Southport and Referendum Gates

The original gate was built in 1552 in the time of Emperor Charles V. The second and later gate bears the arms of Queen Victoria and General Sir John Adye, the Governor of Gibraltar in 1883. The third and widest of these gates, known as Referendum Gate, was opened in 1967 and commemorates the first Referendum in which Gibraltarians voted by an overwhelming majority to retain their links with Britain.

Discover other attractions in the area