Accessibility

Font size

Filters

Highlight

Colour

Zoom

Ragged Staff


The first of the gates was constructed in 1843 for foot access. In 1736 the contractor to the Navy Victualling Office built a wharf, 350 feet long, which had access by way of a flight of stone steps and a drawbridge. There are many theories as to the origin of the name, though none have been proven. One of these theories suggests that the Ragged Staff was a badge of the Emperor Charles V, another, that the name derived from the rough finish of the original work because staff can mean cement or similar building material; certainly Major General Sir John Jones in 1841 called the area ‘an ill-conditioned spot... and its extremely unmilitary appearance, as well as apparently defenceless state, strikes one with astonishment...’ and another, that it refers to a type of winch used on this wall. The gates as they stand today pierce the wall at a site previously known as the Ragged Staff Couvreport.

Discover other attractions in the area