King's Chapel

Inside, beneath the colours of several British regiments, lie the remains of the wife of the Spanish governor of 1648, together with those of British governors O'Hara and Campbell, laid to rest in 1802 and 1813 respectively. An oasis of peace next to the busy Main Street, open to the public, it started as the Roman Catholic chapel to the Franciscan Friary in 1532. The date of 1560 by the entrance probably refers to the major repairs and new bell tower built after the pirate raid of 1540.


09:00 - 17:00

Discover other attractions in the area